

Huia Range School

Term 4 Week 10 Friday 15th December, 2023

Website: www.huiarange.school.nz

He mihi mahana kia koutou – A warm greeting to you all

School Phone Numbers 027 781 2224

Up Coming Events

06 374 6444

Prize Giving

Congratulations to the year 8 Our year 8's are all heading to El tamariki who received the following Rancho in Waikanae in week 3 next awards:

Striving for Excellence Ollie Leske

Service to Huia Range School Ella Withey

Cultural Leadership Tiki Smith

Best all-round sportsperson Lexie Evans

Best all-round student Chase Reiri

Dux Meadow Pickett

Farewell

After a very long career in education it is with strongly mixed feelings that I leave a profession that I have thoroughly enjoyed.

There are so many Dannevirke people who have supported me through part of this long journey.

I have had the privilege of working with talented and dedicated staff and Boards.

Our loyal and talented Huia Range School tamariki are unique. They have endless potential and strong individual personalities.

I know that I am leaving a very positive school with strong leadership and amazing teachers, who are well supported by the teacher aides, administration, cleaning and caretaker staff.

Finally thank you for the 2 gorgeous pounamu, a feather and a kete, which I will always cherish.

Year 8 Camp

year.

They will have 4 days participating in a wide range of activities many of which are designed to challenge them and provide them with leadership experiences.

The Board have made a considerable contribution towards each tamariki's costs with expenses again rising significantly compared to previous years.

The local Dannevirke Lions Club have also donated a total of \$2,000.00 which has been split equally amongst our tamariki.

We are very grateful for this generous donation.

After removing the Board's contribution and the Lion's Club donation from each tamariki's costs the total cost per tamariki is confirmed at \$150.00.

Well done to all the whanau who have already fully or partially paid the \$150.00. Full payment is required before the start of the trip.

If payment is a concern please contact Lindsey Randall, who is the principal starting in 2023.

House Competition

Congratulations to Manawanui House for winning the highest overall points for the 2023 school year.



December

14 - Thursday Prize giving - The Hub 6.30pm

15 - Friday Final assembly 9.00am Term finishes 12.00pm

2024

January

29 - Monday Teachers Only Day School office open

30 - Tuesday Teachers Only Day School office open

31 - Wednesday School closed

February

1 - Thursday School starts at 9.00am for ALL tamariki

6 - Tuesday Waitangi Day - School closed

13 - 16 - Tuesday - Friday Year 8 Leadership Camp

For the final time:

Have a safe and happy holiday

Mere Kirihimete (Merry Christmas) Ngā mihi o te tau hou (Happy new year, greetings for the new year).

All the very best for the 2024 school year.

Kia nui te ra. Ka kite ano. Robyn Forsyth Principal





Prize Giving Certificates

Room 2

Logan Welford for achievement in literacy and mathematics and for sharing his wealth of general knowledge. Noah Zalewski for achievement in literacy and mathematics. Loghan Eagle for improvement in literacy and his amiable personality that he shares with us all.

Room 3

Ellie Phillips for consistently applying herself to her learning and displaying the STRIVE values. Khara Paewai for outstanding achievement in reading and writing and impressive progress in mathematics. Kath Smith for consistently applying herself to her learning to receive outstanding achievement in reading and writing and impressive progress in mathematics.

Room 4

Iris Emms for outstanding achievement in mathematics and literacy. Rangi Roberts for outstanding achievement in mathematics and literacy. Kallum Phillips for consistently displaying the STRIVE values.

Room 5

Reese Lilo-Dawson for outstanding achievement in literacy. Mila-Rose Chapman for outstanding achievement in literacy. Moana Nicholson for consistently displaying the STRIVE values and always applying herself in all areas of the curriculum.

Room 6

Ava Hemopo-La Dette for outstanding achievement in literacy. William McDermott-Carroll for outstanding achievement in numeracy. Jashaiya Vitaliano-Renata for outstanding achievement in promoting STRIVE expectations in the classroom.

Room 8

Ryan Kyle-Warner for outstanding achievement in numeracy and literacy. Asha McCutcheon for outstanding achievement in literacy. Corban Tomuri-Williams for selecting the most appropriate thinking tools in order to carry out a task.

Room 9

Rhythm Roberts for outstanding achievement in mathematics and literacy. Tate Kopua-Elers for outstanding achievement in mathematics and consistently displaying STRIVE values. Hudson Feierabend for applying himself in all curriculum areas and displaying the STRIVE values.

Room 10

Max Baker for outstanding achievement in literacy and mathematics and approaching every learning opportunity with enthusiasm. Xavier Chapman for outstanding achievement in mathematics and approaching all mathematical challenges with determination and perseverance.

Riana Kino-Avery for consistently role modelling STRIVE values in and out of the classroom and showing emerging leadership skills.

Room 11

Faith Bloomfield for outstanding achievement in literacy, numeracy and contributing positively to school life. Phelix Richards for outstanding achievement in literacy and numeracy and showing positive leadership skills. Izzy Chapman for outstanding achievement in literacy and numeracy and consistently showing positive leadership skills.

Room 12

Honar Sherrard-Chase for outstanding achievement in mathematics and literacy. Sapphire Duncan for outstanding achievement in mathematics and literacy. Samantha Boblea for consistently displaying the STRIVE values.

Room 15

Estelle Mihaere for outstanding achievement in literacy. Richie Eagle for outstanding achievement in numeracy. Hazel Redward for outstanding achievement in promoting STRIVE expectations in the classroom.

Congratulations to all of these certificate recipients - fantastic achievements across the 2023 year.

